General Discussion
  >> Broadband Quality Monitor

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User mandrake127
(newbie) Wed 26-Dec-12 20:01:27
Print Post

Minimum Latency

[link to this post]

I'm not a broadband expert but I would like to ask what might seem a simple question. A couple of years ago I had a loss of speed fault and at the time my supplier Madasafish told me they had switched me to 'interleaved.' In fact this was not the problem, I had a wiring fault in the telephone socket which I cleared.
Since then the service has been rock solid at download of 6.3 (ADSL) and I have no complaints about that. However examining my monitor shows a minimum latency of about 37 or so.
Monitor
Now I'm not complaining, but I have been told this is high, and that it might be due to the interleaving. I've searched around on Google but am only getting fairly wishy-washy answers. I'm reluctant to fiddle with it if it 'aint broke' but would appreciate some more expertise opinions on this level. Many thanks.
Standard User 5km
(knowledge is power) Sun 30-Dec-12 16:40:13
Print Post

Re: Minimum Latency

[re: mandrake127] [link to this post]

You'd probably not notice any difference if the ping was say just 10ms less, which is probably the difference turning off interleaving will make.

Call or e-mail your provider to get interleaving switched of (or reduced) if you want.

O2 Broadband Premium LLU
Now on twitter @timmay2
Standard User Bob_s2
(committed) Sun 30-Dec-12 18:03:47
Print Post

[re: 5km] [link to this post]

Latency is basdicaly dependent on distance and the medium through which the signal is tranmitted, Unless the lngth of the line changes significantly latency will not change

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Moderator billford
(moderator) Sun 30-Dec-12 18:24:31
Print Post

[re: Bob_s2] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by Bob_s2: