General Discussion
  >> Broadband Quality Monitor

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User sebastionp
(newbie) Sun 25-Jan-15 12:12:28
Print Post

Any advice please?

[link to this post]

I've been working away for 3 years - now home 100% since December and have noticed constant problems with my ADSL 8Mbps connection which looks like it was migrated to Coms.com from ADSL24 last year. I was not getting these problems with ADSL24.

I'm synced at the full 8128K with stable SNRM, however am getting very slow speeds and IPlayer freezing etc at some times of the day but especially after 20:00 on weekdays and all weekend - which seems to match the ISP's offpeak period. Speed tests drop typically drop to around 0.2 Mbps and latency rises to 2000ms or complete packet loss.

Weekday BQM - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/27c99b3bf96...

Saturday BQM - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/1a926fc000e...

I was away last week, so my router was idle but the packet loss pattern was still the same.

Logged with Coms.com for nearly a month - but they keep saying it has been passed to their carrier to monitor and then closing the ticket. Any help in interpreting the BQMs would be appreciated.

Thanks

Andy
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Sun 25-Jan-15 12:30:02
Print Post

Re: Any advice please?

[re: sebastionp] [link to this post]

Abysmal packet loss.

If the line looks good, then its time to change providers.

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User sebastionp
(newbie) Sun 25-Jan-15 12:50:39
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]