General Discussion
  >> Broadband Quality Monitor

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User fishpan
(regular) Fri 02-Jun-17 18:43:14
Print Post

How to get BQM working on IPv6?

[link to this post]

Newly migrated to Sky today and immediately got about setting up a new BQM for the connection. Now when I set up a IPv4 BQM it works fine and I can see the pings coming through. When I set up a IPv6 BQM, its 100% packet loss (red block).

Sky Q Hub atm is my modem and router. WAN ping for both v4 and v6 are enabled. Firewall is on default. I'm pretty sure it's something to do with the long IPv6 address but since I am new to it, I am not sure which part I need to put in to make the IPv6 BQM work.

I'm sure there's a simple solution somewhere. Thanks

plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra 80/20 - sync 72200/19999 around 450m
MyDSLWebStats: fishpan
ISP Hx: Freeserve 48k > Wanadoo 56k > Tiscali 8mbps > TalkTalk 40/10 > Plusnet 80/20 > VM 200/20 > Plusnet 80/20
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Fri 02-Jun-17 19:08:11
Print Post

Re: How to get BQM working on IPv6?

[re: fishpan] [link to this post]

Is the IPv6 address the one for the router or the PC?

As for which part, the full IP address

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User fishpan
(regular) Fri 02-Jun-17 19:11:26
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

I believe I've used the one for the PC. When I use whatismyip.com for another device connected to router, it gives a different end to the IP address.

Would the router have a shorter IP address than my PC? Or same length? If I know this, then I can use power of deduction to sift through the convoluted Sky hub's interface and get the right address to put into the BQM.