User comments on ISPs
  >> BT Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User timmys
(learned) Sat 15-Oct-11 12:59:19
Print Post

Switching to Infinity questions (master socket queries)

[link to this post]

I thinking about switching to Inifinity (from 02 ADSL2+).

Problem is I don't seem to have a master socket. The situation is;

- House converted into three flats.
- Single phone cable comes in from outside into a BT branded white box in communal hall, out of which three cables come (one to each flat).
- In my flat I have four phone sockets, none of which have the typical master socket faceplate and none of which appear to have a capacitor in.

Lots of questions;
Is it possible that I don't have a master socket?
Will BT fit one for free?
If so do I need to arrange it as a separate visit prior to the Infinity modem installation?
If I have a master socket fitted does it have to be the one closest to the phone cable entry point or can I choose the one most convenient to the modem?

And finally a non-master socket question!;

Migrating from a LLU ADSL product (from O2) to a fibre product do I still ask for a MAC in the normal way or are they not-required/not-applicable for this situation. I can't see MAC codes mentioned anywhere on the BT installation advice stuff. Is the migration from ADSL to fibre smooth as ADSL>ADSL or would there be a break in service? Perhaps both can co-exist so it's just a case of cancelling the ADSL one the Inifity is installed for the smoothest transition?

Sorry for all the questions, your input would be much appreciated.
Standard User RobertoS
(sensei) Sat 15-Oct-11 14:29:58
Print Post

Re: Switching to Infinity questions (master socket queries)

[re: timmys] [link to this post]

Can't help re the socket question, but it does of course affect the migration side of things.