User comments on ISPs
  >> BT Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User NVB
(member) Tue 10-Jun-14 08:50:53
Print Post

Bt Infinity contract ends soon. Need advice.

[link to this post]

Hi everyone, I've been with BT Infinity for ages and my present contract ends in July. I've no intention of leaving BT Infinity, but someone suggested I should ask for a MAC code and then haggle. I'm very bad at this, I've no previous experience. How do I haggle, what should I ask for that's reasonable or what if I ask for my MAC and they give it to me. It's all rather embarrassing, anyway this is what I pay at the moment, I don't make calls because my mobile is cheaper than my BT landline, I'm currently paying around £43 pm for Infinity + phone line.

Line Rental 4 May-3 Aug 14 £ 47.97
Calling Plan Unlimited Evening and Weekend Plan
This is the cost of your Line rental at £15.99 a month, charged in advance

Broadband BT Infinity Option 2
Broadband and Calls 4 May-3 Aug 14 £ 83.01
This is the cost of your Package at £27.67 a month, charged in advance

Edited by NVB (Tue 10-Jun-14 09:05:43)

Standard User jcym
(fountain of knowledge) Tue 10-Jun-14 09:04:19
Print Post

Re: Bt Infinity contract ends soon. Need advice.

[re: NVB] [link to this post]

Look up what others are offering for similar packages, e.g. SKY, Talk Talk etc. as a bargaining chip, Then just ask them outright what is it worth to keep you as a customer as you an get xyz at such and such. Worst they can do is say nothing at which point ask for your MAC to see if that triggers any offers. Remember, just because you ask for a MAC doesn't mean you have to use it and asking for one doesn't automatically mean that you have given BT actual notice to leave.

Edited for typos.

Edited by jcym (Tue 10-Jun-14 09:05:20)

Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Tue 10-Jun-14 09:45:35
Print Post

[re: jcym] [link to this post]