User comments on ISPs
  >> BT Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User nine
(learned) Thu 14-May-15 08:57:12
Print Post

Bt router advice and help

[link to this post]

hello all

I am waiting for my fibre install and recived a homehub type A but im on a huawei cabinet and most likely this g.Inp is ebabled. Can i return the hub type A for another and ask for a B or just get rid of the hub for better router with more features?

Is there a certain kind of router that works best on my huawei fibre cabinet as im between 460 -640 metres away?.

Over chat they said l have fibre self install as no engineer was needed but i have a master adsl nation filtered faceplate and 1 extension to adsl nation filtered faceplate to where router is located but i get good syncs 16megs ish on adsl2 with broadcom chipset netgear.

Ive payed the 30 quid for activation hoping was all included new faceplates and location of router

Thank u so much

Edited by nine (Thu 14-May-15 09:00:06)

Standard User David_W
(fountain of knowledge) Thu 14-May-15 10:00:39
Print Post

Re: Bt router advice and help

[re: nine] [link to this post]

There's almost certainly nothing wrong with your existing internal wiring and filtering, judging by your description. You could replace it with a setup based on the Openreach interstitial VDSL filter, but that would be at your expense.

At the moment, I believe G.INP is not being enabled on new lines pending the result of the trial that aims to find a solution for the latency issues experienced with some equipment. It may also be that a fully G.INP compatible firmware emerges for the Home Hub you have.

Those things said, I understand why you are unhappy. If you can't arrange a swap for a Type B, you could get a HG612 Type 3B from a well known auction site, install the B030SP08 firmware and connect that to the Ethernet WAN port of the Home Hub you have.