User comments on ISPs
  >> BT Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User henryblackman
(newbie) Sun 24-Jul-16 17:30:36
Print Post

BT Smart Hub Slow Speeds?

[link to this post]

Hello. I'm new to BT Infinity - although lucky to get it in my very rural area - having it activated around 3 weeks ago. I've got the new SmartHub, but I'm not particularly impressed with the speed. The SmartHub reports 'Data Rate' as 15.40 kbps/63.65 kbps (I'm assuming kbps is a typo in their manager software and means Mbps) but the 'Maximum Data Rate' as 15400/73994. Does that mean it's syncing at 73994 down, but only giving me 63.65 Mbps of that? I'm around 400M from the cabinet - Huiwai I believe, if that matters - and my 'guaranteed' speed is 65Mbps down according to BT when I placed the order.

The noise margin is 6.4/6.6, line attenuation is 20.3 with latency type 'Fast Path'. I'm not entirely sure what this all means, I can certainly live with 65Mbps down and 15 up, it's insanely fast compared to my original ADSL Max service (nothing more recent on my exchange), but want to make sure I'm getting my full monies worth!

Thanks!
Standard User RobertoS
(elder) Sun 24-Jul-16 19:01:22
Print Post

Re: BT Smart Hub Slow Speeds?

[re: henryblackman] [link to this post]

The "Data Rate" is your sync. The "Maximum Data Rate" is a strange number that varies according to two main variables.

The running one is the noise margin compared with the margin at the time you sync'ed. The other is whether interleaving is on or off. A difference of ~10Mbps between the two normally means it is on.

If DLM turns interleaving off then your sync rises and the Max rate falls. crazy. Normally ending up quite close together.

I don't know how the SmartHub handles G.INP, but on Huawei cabinets G.INP often kicks in after a couple of weeks of interleaving and interleaving is turned off.