Technical Discussion
  >> Digital Photography, Video and Graphics

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Littleseen
(regular) Sun 21-Oct-12 10:54:03
Print Post

Tectonic shift of modus operandi

[link to this post]

Until age claimed me I was a freelence commercial photographer doing much what is termed in the trade record photography --- lots of dull but competent photos for purchasers archives and for sale to publishers. I did my own reloads from bulk, my own d&p, all very ordinary and all entirely chemical. I had one of the very first 1/1000sec Pentax Spotmatic (imported by Derek Gardner Ltd) and I stuck with it --- especially when the 38mm Acme thread lost out to bayonet lenses.

I only wish the modern diigital had been available then.

But today's digital camera has hijacked decent photography. We no longer take Photographs with a cap P but we take snaps with a small s

Millions of them. We don't try to avoid backgrounds showing telephone poles sprouting out of the subjects heads, we don't any longer suffer every click of the shutter draining real money out of our pockets --- we bang away and more capable the camera-phone the more tthe world & his wife flood us with truly abysmal-quality snaps.

There has not been a sea-change in photography but a tectonic shift. There is no editiing, no moderation, and precious little quality. Sites are overwhelmed with badly-composed rubbish and we are expected to say "oooh, luvverly" --- few snappers bother to use a digital photo-editor to correct/improve, anything goes, and mighty bad it is.

In a sense the modern digital & especially the camera-phone represents the death of photography.

Anybody care to say "snap" to agree with me?

Obscurity is a comfortable cloak
Standard User Aliturk
(fountain of knowledge) Sun 21-Oct-12 15:35:15
Print Post

Re: Tectonic shift of modus operandi

[re: Littleseen] [link to this post]