Technical Discussion
  >> DSL Hardware Discussion

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User postal
(newbie) Tue 19-Jan-10 01:37:45
Print Post

Draytek 2710n question?

[link to this post]

I have been using a draytek 2710n wireless router for almost 6 months I do like it but theres just to many options lol.
One thing I noticed was that the upload speed was about 25% less than other routers I use, initially I thought it was just down to the different brand of manufacturer - I noticed an option to reserve bandwidth in the QoS page of the router oddly enough it was reserving 25% this option was disabled.
I have since learned that a firmware upgrade is available (not listed on the support site - but found thru FTP) to resolve this issue and actually give you control over the QoS settings as even tho its reported as disabled this is not the case... great I thought - However for what ever reason there are 5 different firmware variations available for the same Annex A firmware update depending on the ADSL firmware modem code - I have the default firmware it shipped with 3.3.0 211801 modem code. Yet 232201 is recommended for the U.K. and another forum suggested that changing the modem code thru a firmware upgrade could improve performance.
Basically does anyone out there use a Draytek router if so could you indicate what adsl firmware/modem code is currently reported by the router? And whether you have any issues with the router?
Currently I get alot of Rx CRC errors reported (i think thats what it says) and the line drops a few times a week usually.
Any help or even posting your experiences of using this brand of router is appreciated.

I am in the market for a router and picked 2 up last week but returned them both as the linksys WAG120N was faulty and the belkin had a misleading name.

Thanks.
Standard User jchamier
(fountain of knowledge) Tue 19-Jan-10 08:03:57
Print Post