Technical Discussion
  >> DSL Hardware Discussion

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User GeoffB
(fountain of knowledge) Fri 16-Aug-13 15:44:51
Print Post

Devolo dLan 500 plugs - wifi?

[link to this post]

I want to disable the wifi broadcast from these and just use the Ethernet function. I know this is possible, but can someone tell me how please?
Even though I have switched off wifi from the router ( VM Superhub in this case) the plugs are still broadcasting a signal from their own network name (devoloxxxxx), so how can that happen?) As you can see, I'm new to this technology. It's for a friend's conservatory so he only needs the base plug in the hallway next to the hub and one other at the other side of the house, which gets a rotten wifi signal.
I've got the Ethernet working fine (55Mbs from a nominal 120 connection, so not bad). Just annoyed I can't zap the wifi broadcast from the plugs. Obviously, I want to turn wireless back on at the hub when I've disabled it at the plugs.

Dell Studio1558 with Win7 Home Premium
8GB RAM
IE10 and Live Mail
BT Infinity via HH3
Standard User jecop
(newbie) Fri 16-Aug-13 15:57:40
Print Post

Re: Devolo dLan 500 plugs - wifi?

[re: GeoffB] [link to this post]

read the manual? Google for devolo dlan 500 manual finds this:
http://www.devolo.co.uk/consumer/dlan-500-av-wireles...

p45 seems to provide your answer
Standard User iand
(fountain of knowledge) Fri 16-Aug-13 17:36:37
Print Post

Re: Devolo dLan 500 plugs - What Speed do you get

Hi,

what speed are you getting using these devices. I assume you have fibre? I have the 200AV version and they top out at 22-25M download but run the 10M upload. Just wondering if to spend the extra £100 to kit the house out with these.

IanD

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Fri 16-Aug-13 18:03:52
Print Post