Technical Discussion
  >> DSL Hardware Discussion

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Pipexer
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Mon 08-Dec-14 18:11:22
Print Post

pfSense - reliable, stable, trustworthy firewall, IPv6?

[link to this post]

I got carried away the other day and bought another HP Proliant Microserver despite not needing another one so I am wondering whether to try pfSense on it. Thing is I don't really have any complaints with my current Draytek Vigor 2860n...

Is anyone willing to try and convince me I absolutely should setup pfSense and use that instead of my Draytek?

If only Firebricks were a bit cheaper..

AAISP Home::1
Standard User Spud2003
(fountain of knowledge) Tue 09-Dec-14 06:15:55
Print Post

Re: pfSense - reliable, stable, trustworthy firewall, IPv6?

[re: Pipexer] [link to this post]

I've been running pfSense for a few months now and it looks like becoming my permanent router(and I have some pretty good routers to choose from). In my case I'm using a fanless(including CPU) mini-ITX PC with a SSD - so absolutely zero moving parts(apart from the power switch). I presume you are going to add another network card to your Microserver or use some VLAN trickery?

I've found it reliable, stable, fine as a firewall(though I'm not a firewall nerd), and it runs my Hurricane Electric IPv6 tunnel with no problems.

Spend some time at the pfSense forums and the pfSense sub-reddit. Essentially it's free so try it and see if you like it, you won't lose anything. smile
Standard User Benjanyan
(regular) Tue 09-Dec-14 17:05:23
Print Post

I've found it to be excellent for managing multiple connections to the net. I run it via Virtualbox so the setup is far from ideal but it continues to work well. I also run OpenVPN via it.

If you don't need the extra features I'd have to say "if it's not bust, don't fix it" though.

Ben

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User summat