User comments on ISPs
  >> Eclipse Internet

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User brougham
(newbie) Fri 24-Dec-10 08:55:30
Print Post

Router upgrade and 21CN configuration

[link to this post]

I've been with Eclipse for a long time- I was on the original Business 500 service with a subnet of fixed IP addresses. I was quite happy with 512kbps- as long as I got it I was quite happy. In June-ish I started getting horrendous throughput (8-12kB/s) and rang up for my MAC (was thinking A&A or BE). They made some changes and things got much better. As part of the process I got a master socket filter and a Technicolour 585v7 from Eclipse as that is what they suggest. My previous router was also from them (via a mate who was on Eclipse till he emigrated). I signed up for a 12 month contract.

I got my new 585v7 plugged in and rang their tech support- "Oh no, we don't support your configuration" Brilliant! A lot of help that was.

So I've scoured the forums here and found that zen/plusnet/BE use this router and I've spent hours pouring over pages trying to get it to work. I've followed the 585v7 mult-ip app-note, no joy. The BE firmware is bespoke and behind passwords (not sure it would work either). I have followed the setup guide on Zen's support- it exactly describes what I am want and the steps match exactly what I see. This config works the best but will not allow incoming connections (it's not the firewall).

Can anyone share a setup that works with Eclipse and a subnet of addresses please?
Standard User john7
(member) Fri 24-Dec-10 21:17:27
Print Post

Re: Router upgrade and 21CN configuration

[re: brougham] [link to this post]