General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Edge
(committed) Fri 07-Oct-11 11:05:50
Print Post

Change in attainable rate

[link to this post]

Something happened last night, I dropped sync at around 4:00AM and reconnected shortly after with my router reporting higher than usual attainable rates. Are BT doing something, or is this normal?

My router only ever shows an attainable rate slightly lower than my IP profile but as you can see from the pic below, both the down and upstream attainable rate have gone up a fair bit.

I'm not very good at interpreting line stats, so I don't know if my line quality is ok or not - my cab is about 300m away as the crow flies, but I didn't get the actual line length when FTTC was installed.

>>Router status page<<

>>BT Speedtest Results<<

I guess this could be an indication of what speed I can get when BT upgrade FTTC to the 80/20Mbps service?
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Fri 07-Oct-11 11:12:14
Print Post

Re: Change in attainable rate

[re: Edge] [link to this post]

12dB margin so plenty of spare, hence the ability to get close to 60Meg if it was allowed, maybe more when the VDSL line profiles change.

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User lockyatlrg
(fountain of knowledge) Fri 07-Oct-11 12:05:42
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

The attainable rate you see now is no indication of the speed you will get under profile 17a.

The attainable line speed you see now is the speed you would get under 8C if the line was not capped at 40.

This is my take on it.