General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Anonymous
(Unregistered)Thu 12-Apr-12 18:42:58
Print Post

Not sure if 80/20 is worth it for me.

[link to this post]

Hi.

Complete newbie here.

I'm currently with BT ADSL2, getting about 14mbps download speeds. I was always planning on upgrading to 40mb BT Infinity in the next month anyway (when my special BT discount ends).

Now that BT have announced that speeds are now up to 80mb, I am even more determined to stick with BT, however my question is this:

On the BT speed test, it stats that my estimated speed will be 40.8mbps. If that's the case, there is no point me paying BT prices, when I could go with a cheaper alternative (Sky for example), and just use their "up to 40mb" package.

So, have the line checker speed test thing actually been updated yet taking into account the up to 80mb?

Thanks
Standard User Squirrel
(knowledge is power) Thu 12-Apr-12 18:55:33
Print Post

Re: Not sure if 80/20 is worth it for me.

[re: Anonymous] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by Anonymous:
So, have the line checker speed test thing actually been updated yet taking into account the up to 80mb?

Mine has and my upgrade order has gone in. Not had a single problem with BT infinity in 14 months so don't mind tying myself in for another 18 months.

Anonymous
(Unregistered)Thu 12-Apr-12 19:03:28
Print Post

[re: Squirrel] [link to this post]

So you reckon when my line test says estimated speed 40.8, that's what it reckons I can get on an up to 80meg package?

Doesnt seem right that im losing almost half of the speed.

Is there a way I can see how far away from the cabinet I am? (If I knew what I was looking for i'd go for a walk and try and find it)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User BatBoy
(legend) Thu 12-Apr-12 19:06:05
Print Post

What you really need is a modem that reports your line stats.