General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User HEARTLY
(newbie) Sat 30-Jun-12 21:03:58
Print Post

Infinity - homehub placement / access point

[link to this post]

Hooray! I've ordered BT Infinity 2 (FTTC), to be installed on 9 July, but I need help. I’d like to ask for some help/advice/suggestions regarding the placement of the Homehub, and the possibility of an ‘access point’ solution.

(1) Is it true that it's best to install the router and modem as near to the BT master socket as possible?

I’ve been using a Netgear DG834PN ADSL router for many years, and it has never failed. For convenience, it is placed close to the main home desktop, which is about 6 meters from the BT socket. The wireless performance is excellent, serving gadgets like several laptops, PSPs, iPads, iPods, iPhones, BBs, other smartphones, etc. As I believe that 'wired is better than wireless', i LAN-wired it to several devices - PC, PS3, XBox & Samsung SmartTV. The other PCs in the house are also wired using Homeplugs…

If I place the BT Homehub close to the BT socket, and want to maintain the same configuration, I would have to do re-wires (i.e. longer Ethernet cables required) - this is not difficult, but I would rather avoid it if I can.

(2) If the Openreach modem and Homehub will be installed near the BT socket, can I connect the Homehub to the (old) Netgear router (by Ethernet cable), so that the Netgear can act like an 'access point'?

Correct me if I’m wrong, but if this (2) is possible, it offers a couple of benefits, namely :
(a) I can maintain my present connections; no need for new wiring (apart from the Homehub connection to the main PC, which I assume the BT Eng’r. will do).
(b) WiFi in the house will be enhanced.

(3) For (2), if the Netgear router needs to be replaced for ‘access point’ purposes, what would be a good replacement?