General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Addnan
(learned) Wed 05-Dec-12 14:10:23
Print Post

old style master socket

[link to this post]

Probably a really simple question. I ordered infinity a few days ago and now kinda getting worried that I have a old fashioned master socket, without the removal faceplate and test socket. The smaller ones.

Will the openreach engineer replace it? am I just worrying for nothing.
Standard User Spasch
(fountain of knowledge) Wed 05-Dec-12 14:21:52
Print Post

Re: old style master socket

[re: Addnan] [link to this post]

It will be replaced.
Standard User Addnan
(learned) Wed 05-Dec-12 14:27:06
Print Post

[re: Spasch] [link to this post]

Thank you for the quick reply smile

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User ukhardy07
(fountain of knowledge) Wed 05-Dec-12 15:04:02
Print Post

To add it wont cost you anything smile
Standard User StephenTodd
(committed) Wed 05-Dec-12 15:34:44
Print Post

[re: ukhardy07] [link to this post]

If you have an old socket, you may also have old wiring with extensions taken off a junction box before the master socket. This was fine for phones, and for ADSL as long as properly filtered, but it is not fine for FTTC.

If you have got such wiring make sure the installer rectifies it. My installer assured me that it didn't matter when I raised it with him and didn't fix mine: he was wrong. My initial 60Mbps quickly dropped to 12Mbps, and even 3.5Mbps for a short time. I snipped the extension (we weren't using it for anything important) and speeds recovered in DLM's good time to around 70Mbps.

--
Moved (with trepidation) to BT Infinity 2 for upload speed. Happy BE user for several years.
Standard User Addnan
(learned) Wed 05-Dec-12 17:16:43
Print Post

[re: StephenTodd] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by StephenTodd: