General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User JamieDanjoux
(newbie) Mon 25-Feb-13 21:22:54
Print Post

Turning an extension socket into a fibre socket?

[link to this post]

Hi everyone,

Can you turn an extension socket into a master socket? I am a very experienced installer but can't find anywhere on the net on how to do this? I can't use the extension socket due to being on fibre. I don't mind getting into trouble by BT or BTOPENREACH. Is there anyway changing the ext (extension) socket into a master socket? I am also not bothered about a reduced speed. Please note I do not want a WAP or a home plug.

Any Help will be appreciated

J

I am with Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Broadband! My speeds are 60mbits+ and Upload is 15mbits+
Standard User BatBoy
(legend) Mon 25-Feb-13 21:26:39
Print Post

Re: Turning an extension socket into a fibre socket?

[re: JamieDanjoux] [link to this post]

In a standard extension cable, there is a spare pair which you can use to back-wire from the old master to the new master.

__________________________________________________________________________The back pedalling starts here__________________
(newbie) Mon 25-Feb-13 21:29:19
Print Post

[re: BatBoy] [link to this post]

Sorry to be very thick, but could you give me some steps on how to do this?

J

I am with Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Broadband! My speeds are 60mbits+ and Upload is 15mbits+

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User BatBoy
(legend) Mon 25-Feb-13 21:33:17
Print Post

Sorry, I need a bit more info. Are the extensions daisy-chained from the master using 2-pair UTP extension cable? and, How far down the chain is the extension socket you are interested in?

__________________________________________________________________________The back pedalling starts here__________________