General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User undecidedadrian
(member) Wed 24-Apr-13 12:48:53
Print Post

Thoughts on Asus RT-N66U

[link to this post]

I have been using a Draytek 2750n on my FTTC connection for 18 months and have found it to be very good, especially as for what ever reason my OR modem would not operate over 50% of the line speed that the Draytek would.

Over the possibilty of vectoring coming later this year I contacted draytek to see if the 2750n was vectoring friendly at least and the answer I got back that not only was it not vectoring friendly but the modem was only rated to 100 mb/s.

So not looking good if vectoring is rolled out for the whole cabinet.

So I am now looking at the ASUS RT-N66U to be used in conjunction with an OR modem (and if mine is stil not happy I'll get one off ebay)

What are people's thoughts on it as a FTTC router?

Edited by undecidedadrian (Wed 24-Apr-13 13:26:41)

Standard User ferretuk
(regular) Wed 24-Apr-13 12:59:31
Print Post

Re: Thoughts on Asus RT-N66U

[re: undecidedadrian] [link to this post]

Modem? Typo? [Edit] Ah,you've edited your post now smile

While the Asus router is the bees knees by all accounts, why change now?

Vectoring trials are only just starting and the timescale for full rollout isn't known (or indeed if it will be rolled out)

When/if it is rolled out the 66 will no doubt have been superseded...

Edited by ferretuk (Wed 24-Apr-13 13:59:18)

Standard User Andrue
(knowledge is power) Wed 24-Apr-13 13:11:28
Print Post

In reply to a post by undecidedadrian:
What are people's thoughts on it as a FTTC modem?
My thoughts are 'what's wrong with the BT supplied modem?'

smile

---
Andrue Cope
Brackley, UK

Just because he could. RIP.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User Ignitionnet
(knowledge is power) Wed 24-Apr-13 13:12:47
Print Post