General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User jutsenberg
(learned) Fri 06-Sep-13 17:09:52
Print Post

Exeter exchange but no cabinet. What does this mean for me?

[link to this post]

Just been told that I cant get fibre as I am plugged directly into the Exeter (EX4) exchange (see openreach email below).

I am not a tech expert but I am hoping that this doesnt mean that i will NEVER get FO, merely that until my exchange is made commercially viable, I will have to wait. is that correct?
thanks for any help / advice.
============

Thank you for your enquiry about fibre broadband, you are connected directly to the exchange and not via a telephony cabinet located in the street, this is referred to as an E/O line.
Our deployment is based on the commercial criteria for each exchange and in turn, how broadband is delivered from the exchange. Unfortunately, as your line is fed directly from the exchange it fails to meet the commercial criteria. This is because the solution to deploy Fibre Broadband to lines connected this way would not provide a return on the investment based on the costs for the construction and on-going running costs.
Government funding is available to county and borough councils to assist in the upgrade of lines that are connected directly to the exchange. It would be worth contacting them to enquire if they have discussed funding with BDUK to help upgrade lines such as yours. http://www.connectingdevonandsomerset.co.uk/
You can also register your interest for upgrade via the following link http://www.openreachfibrebroadband.co.uk/expression-...