General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User PCBasher
(member) Mon 16-Dec-13 20:01:16
Print Post

I-plate on an extension?

[link to this post]

Hiya all.

Im in need of some help.

Currently my router is connected to the main socket. Paying for 40mb and getting it ok. I would like to move the router to another room.

I connect in the lounge at 30mb, so quite a loss on the internal wiring. I have an iplate and another master socket to fit. does anyone have any idea how i connect and what colours to connect? If I cannot fit an iplate to a phone extension does anyone have any solutions to help boost the connection in my lounge. Is there an extension equivilent? Cannot do homeplugs as they do not work very well on my wiring.

All help is appreciated.

Have a good evening.

Sky Fibre Unlimited
Rayleigh, Essex
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Mon 16-Dec-13 20:09:43
Print Post

Re: I-plate on an extension?

[re: PCBasher] [link to this post]

If you have FTTC then you have one of these sockets or should do on your master socket

http://www.coolwebhome.co.uk/faceplate/ and what you want to do is connect an extension to the yellow arrow set of connectors in the picture http://www.coolwebhome.co.uk/faceplate/images/test-s... and then run a CW1308 (proper telephone cable) or Cat5 cable to where you want the modem, and run this to a socket like this RJ11 socket

The iplate just filters the ring wire and is not designed for use on extension sockets, and you should really only fit one master socket in a property.

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User PCBasher
(member) Mon 16-Dec-13 20:38:32
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]