General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User lordbell
(newbie) Tue 21-Jan-14 13:09:26
Print Post

Slowdowns

[link to this post]

Dear all, I wonder if someone could help me. I currently have BT Infinity in a small office that I use. I am a self-employed financial trader, so speed of connection is of the utmost importance. My Infinity always shows speeds of 75MB, but at certain busy times of the day I have data slowdowns of up to 2 minutes. The prices of the commodities I trade become delayed and I know the data I am seeing on my screen isn't correct, but a few minutes behind real-time. We have complained to BT numerous times, but they just spout the headline 75MB speed, but this seems irrelevant when I am still having slowdowns.

Someone else has told me that the problem lies because the Infinity lines to the cabinet, or maybe from the cabinet to the exchange are shared by other users. Some have said they are shared by a total of 20 users, others say 50 users. So regardless that Speedtest.net is showing I have 75MB there is sometimes a bottleneck and I am not seeing live prices.

I am thinking of switching to Sky Fibre, but want to know whether I will have exactly the same issues, as they just use the same lines. Sky tell me that their network is their own and is never shared (they're going to say that obviously). I think almost all businesses around my premises will be with BT, so if I did change to Sky, there may not be as many other Sky users sharing my line - so it could be better. I could be barking up completely the wrong tree, but no-one else I ask seems to know the truth of what is causing the problem, or a solution.

Obviously I don't want to commit to a 1 year contract with Sky, if after 1 day I have the same slowdowns.

Any advice would be much appreciated please.

Many thanks,

Kevin
Administrator MrSaffron