General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User BIGEYE
(newbie) Mon 19-May-14 14:56:08
Print Post

Fibre broadband - which one?

[link to this post]

Fibre broadband has just become available in my area. I am new to fibre broadband so looking for some advice. My present ISP is Zen who can provide, but at a slightly higher cost, or switch to BT Infinity. I don't know if BT Infinity are any good, but they are offering a good deal for new users. Should I switch from my current ISP to BT or stick with Zen who have served me well for years.
Also, Zen fibre packages are offered with line rental. Do I need to change my line if upgrading to fibre. Also I have a nice router, do I need to change this also?
Standard User RobertoS
(sensei) Mon 19-May-14 16:19:11
Print Post

Re: Fibre broadband - which one?

[re: BIGEYE] [link to this post]

Who is your line rental with at the moment?

Do you have Sky TV?

Do you want BT Sport?

Do you need a static IP address such as Zen give you? On BT you would have to take a business product as you cannot have one on residential ones.

The BT Infinity service seems to be fine in itself, but there are currently problems with the free modem/router they send out losing connection frequently. The telephone support is not UK and I get a poor impression of it from the posts on these forums. There are also reports that repeated complaints on the in-house community forum can lead to being banned from there.

Zen are good. Plusnet are good, with good UK support plus an active helpful forum presence here and in-house. They allow you to take their line rental or keep what you have, but at a higher price. Static IP address available.