General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User stuchad
(committed) Sun 03-Aug-14 10:11:15
Print Post

Upload speed dropping

[link to this post]

Folks

Looking for guidance as I am a fibre newbie. I've read a few threads on here about profile resets etc but not sure if it's appropriate.

From day 1 of fibre, for the first couple of weeks, I was getting about 37Mb down and 18 Mb up and was very happy. I then went on holiday for 10 days and my next speed test on my return shows 37Mb down but only 9.5Mb up. It's now been around these numbers for a few days. So it seems my upload speeds have halved whilst my download is solid.

My ISP says estimates for my line are 30Mb and 6.6Mb so therefore no fault so therefore nothing I can do. However, when I was on ADSL, I always had a much lower estimate than the reality of what I achieved so, sorry, but I take the estimates with some degree of doubt. My line is, and always has been, rock solid with no drops/disconnects, syncing solidly for days/weeks at 8Mb when ADSL. Given this, I think line quality and distance should be considered acceptable to support fast speeds.

All my speed tests are being done from the same computer (Mac), hard-wired into my router. I have done a test where I have plugged the Mac directly into the OR model - same numbers.

One thing that does spring to mind is that there were thunderstorms during the period of my holiday. Could they have affected things?

Also, it's a new cabinet and it had only been 'available' for about 24 hours when I ordered it, so had been live for 2 weeks when I had it installed at my house.

Any views? Is there a fault? Should I be getting an engineer?
Standard User Ribble
(experienced) Sun 03-Aug-14 10:19:09
Print Post

Re: Upload speed dropping

[re: stuchad] [link to this post]