General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User peblon
(newbie) Wed 17-Sep-14 11:47:38
Print Post

New to the UK - Which ISP?

[link to this post]

Hey experts,

I'm quite new to the UK and the provider world seems to be a bit different than in Germany.

Of course I'm reading into the topic for a while now, but can't really decide which ISP to take for our moving on 2nd October.
We're on the Clerkenwell Cabinet and BT says estimated between 31-53 Mb/s. Is it worth taking the 80/20 package?
I've made a Spreadsheet and BT, Sky and Plusnet (cheapest) are just a few pounds difference (all around £30 -£34 ,offers included)
Which would you suggest? The line is the same, however I think there are Customer Service differences?

Do you think it's realistic to get connected on/around the 2nd of October when ordering today?

Thanks, I really appreciate your help
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 17-Sep-14 12:05:52
Print Post

Re: New to the UK - Which ISP?

[re: peblon] [link to this post]

2 to 3 weeks is the rough timescale for a new line and broadband so 2nd October is not impossible, but will depend on how busy the local area is.

On the extra speed that you might get from the 80 Meg service, difficult to say, depends on whether being nailed to 40 Meg, or getting an extra 20% of speed is important enough to pay more money. Personally the speed freak says order the fastest, the wallet watcher says order a 40/10 or 40/20 package and then upgrade in time if the modem reports lots more extra speed available.

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User peblon
(newbie) Wed 17-Sep-14 12:09:24
Print Post

[re: MrSaffron] [link to this post]

Thanks Andrew,