General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User chipfat
(newbie) Sat 08-Nov-14 11:49:21
Print Post

Tied to Sky Broadband?

[link to this post]

Hi,

I've just come to the end of a 12 month deal with Sky for Fibre Unlimited Pro and so starting looking around for alternative options to get a better deal. Usually, calling Sky to tell them this is enough to get them to come up with a new offer so that you'll stay, but they said they couldn't offer me anything.

I looked at some options online and Plus.net looked like the best deal. I was with them before Sky (at a previous address) and never had any problems with them, so I went ahead and started the process of ordering a package from them. I hit a problem on the sign up in that it said I didn't have fibre available at my address, so I gave Plus.net a call. I'm no expert on any of this stuff but the Plus.net guy rambled on a lot about local loop unbundling and effectlively said Sky is my only option.

I don't really understand this, so I'm wondering if one of you can enlighten me! I just find it odd that I have an existing fibre service, apparently provided over a BT line (in fact, I had to have the cable between my house and the telegraph pole moved due to building work recently and Sky had me call Openreach directly to carry out the work because they said they owned the infrastructure) But it seems that my only option for a fibre broadband service is Sky. I thought the whole point of LLU was to open up the market for other providers, so I find it odd that I apparently have no choice! It might also explain why Sky didn't seem to want to offer me another deal, perhaps knowing that I don't have any options.

Cheers,
Mark.
Standard User BatBoy
(legend) Sat 08-Nov-14 11:52:21
Print Post

Re: Tied to Sky Broadband?

[re: chipfat] [link to this post]