General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User bickerton
(newbie) Wed 18-Mar-15 07:56:43
Print Post

Broadband performance fluctuates

[link to this post]

For the last 2 days my broadband speed has fluctuated wildly over a 24 hour period. In the morning it is about 2mbps. From about 17:30 pm the speed falls to
around 0.02 mbps.

Our house is in a v small village about 3.5km from the cabinet. The exchange / cabinet was upgraded to FTTC a few months ago but we are too far away to get superfast broadband.

I read somewhere that a fibre upgrade can cause problems in terms of capacity sharing which is what these symptoms suggest to me. Has anyone else had a similar problem? If so, what was the cause? What's the technical name for this phenomenon and what can be done to fix it?

I'd welcome a reply couched in simple terms as I'm not very technical.

Thanks
Standard User ian72
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Wed 18-Mar-15 08:12:43
Print Post

Re: Broadband performance fluctuates

[re: bickerton] [link to this post]

If the sync (connection speed) is staying the same then it is likely to be contention. Lots of people sharing the same bit of network.

However, this may not be local to your exchange and could be in the ISPs network. Which ISP are you with? Some ISPs may run higher contention ratios than others to keep costs down.
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 18-Mar-15 08:19:00
Print Post

[re: ian72] [link to this post]

Though while good to raise the contention spectra, the general performance of FTTC based services is pretty good.

The performance at the end of 3.5km FTTC line is going to be VERY marginal and I am leaning towards this been a noise issue. What ADSL speeds were possible before.