General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User chesternutz
(newbie) Mon 27-Jul-15 01:49:40
Print Post

Noob trying to upgrade ro fibre but falls at first hurdle

[link to this post]

hi all

im a noob so apologies if in wrong forum pls move if required

I have been with PN for some 8 yrs with a brief gap in between due to being overseas.
the current acct has been active with adsl broadband and pstn and line rental for over 7 yrs. I have 2 mths remaining on my current pstn product.

since jan 15 I have had speed and dropped conn issues which PN maintain are down to my router. I have changed said router and reset etender plug but no chg. im in a small village 2k residents and all have had issues with adsl since the 21cn fibre became active last winter time. im sure not all are using my router so not just me with a fault and others are on BT, PN SKY and TALKTALK so it reasons to me the echg has oversubscribed and pairpinching etc is active plus demaind on the frames is somewhat heavy. Openreach are actively there 24/7

however, I thought as its my birthday weekend I would give PN one chance as upgrade to unlmtd 38mbps fibre broadband and anytime calls, as it was an additional £5.50pm.

however within an hour I got an email saying the "BAC on my line didn't match CST TYPE" and"An attempted move from ADSL 1 on WBC to ADSL2+An attempt to change the upstream capping
Please check why the order has been rejected and contact the customer"

Then the order was cancelled.

Please can anyone

A. Advise what BAC means
B. what the adsl not means and could these be the fault behind slow speeds and drop conn for months
C. will this be eadily rectified so that I can have fibre asap
D. any suggestions who I can use for stable fibre as I am disabled and rely heavily on having a stable web access and line required for care alarm.