General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Tradewind25
(newbie) Wed 02-Dec-15 11:32:56
Print Post

FTTP enabled router

[link to this post]

I am informed that the installation of FTTP in my village is now complete. I've been in touch with a couple of potential ISPs e.g. Zen. I'm being told that I need an "FFTP enabled" router. I'm not clear as to the full implication of this statement.

I currently use a TP-Link TL-WR841N router. This is what I have always known as a cable router (i.e. not an ADSL device) which has a 100Mbps WAN port. Nowhere do TP-Link describe it as FTTP enabled but I see no reason why its WAN port shouldn't be capable of being connected to the ONT of an FTTP line running at 80/20Mbps. Having said that I have no direct experience of FTTP so perhaps I am missing something here? (I appreciate that if I were to choose a connection faster than 100Mbps I would need a router with a Gigabit WAN port.)

The only other consideration I can think of is the processing capability of the router. To-date I have had a considerably slower connection but perhaps my current device lacks the grunt to cope with something closer to 100Mbps?
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 02-Dec-15 11:44:10
Print Post

Re: FTTP enabled router

[re: Tradewind25] [link to this post]

FTTP enabled router is something you won't see stamped on boxes, the generic description of a cable router is a more likely key phrase, or more technically, a router with an Ethernet WAN port and support for PPPoE