General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User niddnet
(newbie) Wed 03-Feb-16 14:37:26
Print Post

FTTP - Available in "Some" Areas

[link to this post]

Hi All,

Regular lurker, first time poster (like so many!) Go gentle on me, it's my first time smile

Pretty familiar with the tech, and finding out of stuff, but when it comes to what's actually available where, I get a bit stuck.

I'm ok with my exchange and cab - I'm quite happy to see what Sam Knows too - but I only find that FTTP is enabled in "some areas" in my exchange.

I'd really like to know WHICH areas off my exchange have FTTP provision... is this possible?

In case any of you have the know-how, it's MYOAT and cabinet 5 (which actually still has "GPO" stamped on it... no FTTC here!)

Currently I'm on VM - but would happily dump them for something better.

The area served by MYOAT is generally pretty affluent (apart from me lol) though the demographic is probably older than would really make use of the benefits.

WIth thanks to all for any potential help.

R>
Standard User MHC
(sensei) Wed 03-Feb-16 14:41:21
Print Post

Re: FTTP - Available in "Some" Areas

[re: niddnet] [link to this post]

What does the BT checker say?

Copy the full output into a post, just xxxxxx out your number.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

M H C

taurus excreta cerebrum vincit
Standard User PaulKirby
(fountain of knowledge) Wed 03-Feb-16 15:21:00
Print Post

You might have to wait to get fibre due to you being in an area covered by Superfast Cable (i.e. Virgin Media).

Paul

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User MacLe0d
(learned) Wed 03-Feb-16 15:23:42
Print Post

[re: MHC] [link to this post]

Try putting your number into here

https://www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk/codelook.htm