General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Johnmcl7
(learned) Tue 05-Apr-16 10:37:34
Print Post

No engineer for Fibre, is that an issue?

[link to this post]

I've been changed over to BT Infinity this morning from ADSL and had booked an engineer as I have an old master socket, the ADSL went down this morning and now received a mail saying it's all done - just hook up the equipment.

The BT site seems to suggest I can use the new router in place of the old one but some sites suggest that unless you get the proper filtered faceplate, speeds will suffer - it's the 80/20 package I signed up for. I'm trying to get a hold of BT but I thought you clever people would be the quickest way to get an answer as there's mixed information out there.

John

Edited by Johnmcl7 (Tue 05-Apr-16 16:11:18)

Standard User lee111s
(committed) Tue 05-Apr-16 10:45:07
Print Post

Re: Urgent - no engineer for Fibre, is that an issue?

[re: Johnmcl7] [link to this post]

Have you plugged it in to see what the router connects at? What speeds were you estimated? Is the sync speed close to the estimation?
Standard User Johnmcl7
(learned) Tue 05-Apr-16 10:49:18
Print Post

[re: lee111s] [link to this post]

In reply to a post by lee111s:
Have you plugged it in to see what the router connects at? What speeds were you estimated? Is the sync speed close to the estimation?

No, not yet - I thought it would be best to try and get the engineer now before the time has passed. If it's likely to be fine then I'll give it a go.

John

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User lee111s
(committed) Tue 05-Apr-16 10:58:40
Print Post

It most likely will be fine. Unless you have star wiring or some elaborate home wiring set up, there should be no problem.