General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User ryannn
(newbie) Wed 13-Apr-16 21:29:18
Print Post

FTTPoD - Has anyone explored?

[link to this post]

Hey guys,

As previously mentioned, it doesn't look like I'm part of the rollout, but I can't just accept these speeds.

I'm a web designer running a business from home, so it's quite important to get upgraded (even simple things like uploading to Dropbox, FTP'ing is taking stupid amounts of time, not to mention Xcode updates!).

Do BT do FTTPoD? What's the cost likely to be? Could I look at any sort of local grant/scheme to help me?

Any advice on what to do would be super appreciated.
Standard User RobertoS
(elder) Wed 13-Apr-16 21:40:19
Print Post

Re: FTTPoD - Has anyone explored?

[re: ryannn] [link to this post]

FTTPoD seems to have been (permanently) "suspended" by Openreach as the installation costs and difficulty turned out to be ridiculously high. (Thousands charged to the customer to install in most cases).

G.Fast, FTTN and vectoring seem to be the current lines of trialling. AIUI a spin-off may be a cheaper way to do FTTPoD via the remote nodes of FTTN.

What are your actual connection speeds, and have you looked into line bonding and services such as Ethernet over FTTC? (Cheaper than full Ethernet links). Line bonding and load balancing also available from them.

Kindness isn't going to cure the world of all its awfulness but it's a good place to begin. Daisy Ridley.
My broadband basic info/help site - www.robertos.me.uk. Domains, site and mail hosting - Tsohost.
Connection - AAISP Home::1 80/20. Sync 59546/15321kbps @ 600m. - BQM
Standard User lee111s
(committed) Wed 13-Apr-16 21:45:23
Print Post

[re: RobertoS] [link to this post]