General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User shapeshifter42
(newbie) Thu 11-Aug-16 13:35:21
Print Post

Is my cab still not fibre 'cos I'm considered a cable area?

[link to this post]

Hi Guys,

Newbie here, so please go easy if you think this is too similar to other posts (I've searched).

I'm in B18 5BN on the Birmingham Northern exchange (cabinet 100). The exchange was fibre enabled in 2010 I gather (?), and various cabinets around me upgraded quickly afterwards as far as I can find out. But not mine.

This post code didn't exist in 2010 as it's a new-build that was just being started at the time. But there are other older houses and streets served from the same cabinet. I believe most if not all of these houses have cable access. As my new-build is on an existing street directly opposite existing houses with cable, I emailed virgin about availability. They replied that they had "no active partnership" with my house builder and would be unable to do anything "until the development is finished, the adoption process has been completed and all restrictions on road and pathway excavation has passed". That was 2012 and the new builds long finished and fully-populated.

In 2016 my cab is on the open reach planner as "we are exploring solutions". The "cable-my-street" email I used for Virgin now gets bounced, so I can do nothing there bar re-register on their current website. As far as BT/openreach goes, I have followed up every lead I can and got nowhere.

So.... has BT/openreach left me out 'cos they have (wrongly) assumed I have cable access so am not a priority? Was also wondering if moving off Sky onto BT/plusnet may help? I'd be willing, but scared my ADSL speed (about 8mbit) may decrease, and with no promise of imminent fibre.

Anyone here have any (insider) info they could share please?