General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User inwell
(newbie) Tue 30-Aug-16 18:48:16
Print Post

What type of connection is this ?

[link to this post]

Hi,
I am new to this networking section and new to the forum. Please forgive my ignorance.
As i know BB is delivered through various modes.

1.DSL here i get ADSL modem and copper telephone wires to my home.(DSLAM at telco end)

2.HFC here i get Cable Modem (DOCSIS).... Fiber from operators office to the node near my home and then CoAx to my home where splitter sends one out to my TV and one to Cable Modem

3.FTTH here i get ONU/ Fiber Modem ... Fiber runs all the way from operator to my area and then to my home (WDM at operator end )

Now my operator has offered mi broadband where all the HFC setup is same but he is not offering me internet through that.(no cable modem) Instead he says he has separate CORE which he will be using for internet. But then he is not offering me any ONU/MODEM.
He will be running a CAT5 cable from some location to my home and plug in to normal Wifi router with RJ45 as WAN port.
Query.. : 1. Whats this system will be called ? (no cable modem,no optical modem)
2. What would be the idea behind not using current HFC ?
3.Why would he use another CORE if already one CORE is giving me video signals ?
4.If he is using such setup , what hardware /setup he is missing or he is avoiding ?

Thanks in advance
Sorry for such a long question that too in very first post. Thanks once again
Wishes
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 31-Aug-16 07:36:20
Print Post

Re: What type of connection is this ?

[re: inwell] [link to this post]

Probably what is known as FTTB

Fibre to the building, i.e in apartments this is not uncommon i.e. fibre into the basement and then ethernet to the various flats in the building.