General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User hardya
(newbie) Mon 07-Nov-16 16:12:51
Print Post

Unusually High Usage

[link to this post]

I am a software engineer. (Not a broadband/Router expert). I have a connection with a small local charity expecting to have very low usage. They are with BT.and when the charity was closed for the summer (schools work based) , no staff in, their usage was through the roof (75GB in one month I think), very high bills . They finally got to talk to BT who said it was genuine. So they changed the wifi password on Thurs 3 November and passed this to just the immediate staff. At that point for November usage was 3GB. By today they have consumed 42GB and were closed Saturday, Sunday. They mostly bring in laptops and phones and take them home again.

Does anyone have any suggestions

1) How to monitor the LAN to see if their really IS someone using this much and who it might be? I know a bit about limiting the DHCP server, maybe mapping MAC addresses to fixed IP addresses, etc, but this would restrict if visitors cam for meetings (none since 3 Nov BTW).
2) Best way to challenge BT that their figures may somehow be in error.

Any advice and suggestions would be really welcome.

Thank You.

Edited by hardya (Mon 07-Nov-16 16:14:05)

Standard User Arksun76
(newbie) Mon 07-Nov-16 16:43:52
Print Post

Re: Unusually High Usage

[re: hardya] [link to this post]

It could be that their modem has WPS enabled, which would make it much easier to hack into wirelessly (WPS is only an 8 digit number which can be brute forced pretty easily).

Tell them to go into the modem router settings and make sure WPS is disabled, sadly this can't be done on every modem but fingers crossed it can on theirs.

It doesn't matter how long or complicated their WiFi password is if they have WPS enabled.