General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Neiled
(newbie) Tue 14-Feb-17 17:25:04
Print Post

Basic question from a total newbie

[link to this post]

Hi All

I've no idea on any of the technicalities of broadband and I just want to try and improve my speeds so I'm looking for some help and advise. I apologies for such a long winded opening post so feel free if anyone would like to offer advise/help by means of PM rather than post on here.

I'm currently with EE and get speeds of 10/1 at best but at peak demand times the speeds can drop as low as 1/0. Fibre Optic cable laying from our local exchange has been going on for the past few months and a new cabinet some 300m from our house was installed and fitted out last week and shows as detailed below, so my questions are:

1. Will the speeds increase from the 18/1.2 shown, if so, to what and how long will it take?
2. I'm currently with EE and get around 10/1 at best so do I need to ask them to put me on a super fast option or will this happen automatically?
3. Can I transfer to another ISP who can offer better speeds, if so any suggestions?

Featured Products Downstream Line Rate(Mbps) Upstream Line Rate(Mbps) Downstream Handback Threshold(Mbps) WBC FTTC Availability Date WBC SOGEA Availability Date WBC FTTC 18x2 Provide Availability WBC FTTC 18x2 Sim Availability Left in Jumper
High Low High Low
VDSL Range A (Clean) 18 11.9 1.2 0.8 9.4 Available -- -- Yes --
VDSL Range B (Impacted) 11.8 4.2 1.2 0.6 2.5 Available -- -- Yes --
ADSL Products Downstream Line Rate(Mbps) Upstream Line Rate(Mbps) Downstream Range(Mbps) Availability Date Left in Jumper
WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 5.5 -- 3 to 8 Available -- -- -- Yes
WBC ADSL 2+ Annex M Up to 5.5 Up to 1 3 to 8 Available -- -- -- Yes
ADSL Max Up to 4 -- 3 to 7 Available -- -- -- --
WBC Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available -- -- -- Yes