General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User jalzoo
(newbie) Thu 23-Feb-17 12:40:43
Print Post

Variations in latency

[link to this post]

Hello,

Looking at some BQM's around the forums i notice that people's latencies varies alot even with the same ISP some people are getting 10ms others 18ms some over 20. What causes the variation?. I'm new to FTTC, I have moved from virgin due to big time over congestion in my area. I'm due to go live tomorrow with fttc and i don't know a how lot about the technology.

As i'm a gamer the lower the latency the better.
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Thu 23-Feb-17 12:45:58
Print Post

Re: Variations in latency

[re: jalzoo] [link to this post]

Geography is a big reason

http://blog.thinkbroadband.com/wp-content/uploads/20... part of the latest article on http://blog.thinkbroadband.com shows the difference in TCP latency based on where you are in the UK in relation to our location in London

The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User tommy45
(knowledge is power) Thu 23-Feb-17 15:19:38
Print Post

In reply to a post by jalzoo:
Hello,

Looking at some BQM's around the forums i notice that people's latencies varies alot even with the same ISP some people are getting 10ms others 18ms some over 20. What causes the variation?. I'm new to FTTC, I have moved from virgin due to big time over congestion in my area. I'm due to go live tomorrow with fttc and i don't know a how lot about the technology.

As i'm a gamer the lower the latency the better.