General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User cypher007
(learned) Fri 01-Sep-17 22:22:09
Print Post

dropping of TalkTalk sync speed and using CAT5e for VDSL

[link to this post]

I have a normal master socket which has a filter plugged in the front feeding a cordless phone.

inside the faceplate I have connected 2 runs of cat5e from terminals 5 - 2.

one goes to a filtered connection to my alarm.

the other goes upstairs to the router.

now I was getting some fluctuation on TalkTalk FTTC 80/20 service. it would always be around 71-76000 kbps sync, and the TPlink vr900 reckoned it could manage 85000 down 22000 up.

all was well for some months until we went on holiday. when I came back I happened to check, as I do every so often, the sync speed. it had dropped to 66999 down 19999 up. and no amount of rebooting would budge it. thought the router still says it can run 85000.

so I thought id check the wiring and this is where things get weird.

I removed an old extension cable, twisted pair, from the alarm circuit and replaced it with the cat5e mentioned above. as I found removing this from the master socket 2-5 made the router think it could do 33000 up and 89000 down.

so after wiring it in the new cat5e I thought yay. then checked the router and [censored]. it was actually worse. the up had improved the router thought it could do 27000. but the down had dropped to 76000 and the snr had dropped for down.

the sync is still stuck at 19999 up and 66999 down.

is the cat5e causing problems as I have 2 extensions going to 2 separate sockets, one which is the router the other the alarm?

would fitting a filtered faceplate and connecting one cat5e to the unfiltered and the other to the filtered fix things?

if so whats the best faceplate?

has my upstream dslam got stuck on 66999 or is TalkTalk doing some sneaky bandwidth limiting?