General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User ear9mrn
(newbie) Sat 21-Oct-17 14:08:10
Print Post

FTTC Home extension

[link to this post]

Hi Forum,

Just looking for some advice to squeeze the most out of my FTTC broadband. I live about 200-300m from the Huawei cabinet and my phone line enters my property at roof level from a pole. Currently there is an extension from the BT drop cable in the loft to a point under my stairs (about 15m or so in floor space) via 6core twisted pair cable which i believe is CW1308. At this point I have a BT MK 4 master socket.

Currently these are my stats.
up/down
current sync Kbps 19,999/79,999
max sync Kbps 32,217/91,644
Attenuation DB 0.0/12.6
delay 0.0/3.0
INP 0.0/4.0
Power dbm 0.6/13.3
SNR db 15.0/9.2

And when I ping bbc.co.uk I generally get around 5-6 ms and when I do a speed test I get 74 Mbps down and 16 Mbps up. I do not experience any drops in connection. My only issue is that when I am working away from home and need to connected back to my linux box via ssh I loose connection at least for or five times during the day and have to reconnect, the IP has not changed and the modem and router have not rebooted or anything. In addition I do see a spikes (from modem stats) in CRC and ES on the upstream once or twice an hour and the the same on FEC on the downstream.

I am looking for some advice as follows. Are these drops in ssh connection something to do with the CRC/EC/FEC spikes ? and could my current setup be a source of them? My options as I see them from reading on this forum are as follows:

1) do nothing, most people would give their right arm for those stats and bandwidth!
2) Move the master socket and connect straight to the BT drop then use existing CW1308 as an extension to another socket (under the stairs) where it then split to data and phone.