General Discussion
  >> Fibre Broadband

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Ewok
(fountain of knowledge) Fri 20-Apr-18 19:24:51
Print Post

Bad wiring? odd speeds

[link to this post]

Just moved into a new flat and finally got connected to FTTC today. I am using a HG612 (but also have a Zyxel B10a). I replaced the old master socket which was not even an NTE5 so previous owner had filters in all 5 phone sockets (which were wired in sequence, clockwise around the flat from the master and still had the bell wire attached).

So I wired up a new NTE5 with mk3 faceplate and left all the extensions disconnected, so I have a single master socket with a single phone. I am having bad sync speeds and some odd problems. My predicted speeds were I think 49 to 69 down and 17 up. I am now syncing at 48 down and 17 up.

I had problems getting connected at all initially, when I did get connected, I was getting about 42mb down and syncing at 45mb, , but <2mb up, despite the 17mb upstream sync speed!! I thought I would whip the faceplate off and try the test socket using a filter. Couldnt even connect. Then I thought I would try unplugging the phone, so I did that and plugged the rj11 back into the top/front of the faceplate. My sync speed went from 45 to 48 and my uploads are now 17mb. So the phone seemed to be screwing over the upload speed a LOT, and having a small impact on downstream too.

I don't know If I have done something wrong when wiring the NTE5/mk3, there are only 2 wires being used, attached at A/B on the back of the NTE5. From the upstream speeds, I believe it would suggest I should be able to get close to my max predicted down speed of 69mb since the upstream is hitting the max predicted speed, I would asume downstream should be capable of it as well then. So I am guessing something is screwing with it.