User comments on ISPs
  >> Madasafish

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User rnewfie
(member) Sun 15-May-11 01:42:37
Print Post

Is ADSL2 Better Than ADSL2+

[link to this post]

I have been using ADSL(1) for several years on my 3.9km line and if I force the SNRM down to 3.0, I can get onto a 3000 profile. The line is very stable and sits happily on an SNRM of 3.0 for weeks at a time. In the late evening it drops down to around 0.7, but the DSL2640B router never drops out.

I have just moved to ADSL2+ and my sync speed has increased to 4215, whereas it never went over around 3600 on ADSL(1).

Bearing in mind that I am never going to benefit from the higher frequencies used on ADSL2+, I have read that it is usually possible to get a better sync speed and more of a stable line by forcing ADSL2, as opposed to ADSL2+.

DAK if this is correct? I could just try it, but I am loathe to mess around too much at present as I am still on my training period - Or is this the best time to see if I can get a higher sync speed?
Standard User mixt
(experienced) Sun 15-May-11 07:49:55
Print Post

Re: Is ADSL2 Better Than ADSL2+

[re: rnewfie] [link to this post]

Yes, from experience, for longer lines, ADSL2 is better. There should be an option on your modem to force it to sync using ADSL2 only (without the +) - the option might be called ITU G.992.3.

Now on <aaisp.net>
Previous ISPs: Virgin Media (50Mb/Cable), Be* Un Limited, ZeN
Is Linux routing your internet connection?
Need to make BIND geo-aware?
Standard User Ignitionnet
(knowledge is power) Sun 15-May-11 11:28:46
Print Post

[re: rnewfie] [link to this post]

What mixt said. ADSL2 will concentrate the same amount of power into half the bandwidth.

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Standard User rnewfie
(member) Sun 12-Jun-11 17:32:12
Print Post

[re: Ignitionnet] [link to this post]