User comments on ISPs
  >> EE (Everything Everywhere) and Orange

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User fiffaro
(newbie) Fri 02-Dec-11 11:16:44
Print Post

Daily reset needed

[link to this post]

Dear All,

I am a newbie - please excuse if I ask a really daft question or if there is actually a thread that covers this somewhere. I have been reading the forums for a good few months and searching but can't seem to find anything that quite matches my query.

I have been with Freeserve, Wanadoo, Organge for 8 years with varying degrees of success. I am regularly contacted by them suggesting I upgrade my service so I can go faster: 2M - 8M (which was a disaster when they did something with LLU - I lost the internet for 2 months), then last year to upgrade to 20M The package is Home Select 20Mb, unlimited usage allowance. I often check my download speeds etc and since they upgraded me to the 20M service it has been lower than it used to be (normally around the 5.5M mark). This itself isn't really a problem unless I am using the computer to watch something on iPlayer.

For the last month I have noticed that on returning home from work the internet is extremely slow - speed testing shows that download is consistently around 600K - last night it was 302K. I understand that 6pm is a "busy" time and that the internet is congested - but surely not to that extent. If I run the speedtester.bt.com it informs me that my max line speed capability is 5.5M.

I therefore reboot my router & miraculously I get download speeds of 7.5M until the following day when I have to go through the procedure again. Once I have rebooted the router it shows that my max line speed capability is 7.6M or thereabouts.