User comments on ISPs
  >> EE (Everything Everywhere) and Orange

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User rodeostar
(newbie) Mon 09-Apr-12 00:22:46
Print Post

ADSL Disconnects When BT Phone In Use and Stuck IP Profile?

[link to this post]

Hi All. I've had this problem intermittently for some time but it is now all the time and is just getting unbearable, so I'm hoping someone from Orange 2nd or 3rd line broadband tech support sees this and can lend a hand smile.

Problem : Whenever the BT phone line is answered or a call is made then the broadband connections drops.

I've always been suspicious of the internal wiring in the house but have recently plugged the router and phone into the master socket on a permanent basis and disconnected any extensions from the master socket (note that I have an LJ 2/1A old style master socket rather than the NTE5). So I've rule that possibility out.

When the router is connected (through an ADSL Nation xf-1e filter which has been replaced many times) I can hear noise on the line when I do a BT quiet line test. I do not hear any noise when the router is switched off or not plugged into the filter (I've borrowed a wired phone to do this test to avoid any wireless interference).

Previously, with my Livebox, the router reconnected during any telephone call and often reconnected with a very slow sync speed. Sometimes this would lead to a reduced IP Profile temporarily. Having raised this with Orange I was sent a new Livebox but the behaviour was the same. I then received a new BrightBox which I also tried out (although am reluctant to give up the free VOIP calls through the Livebox) but again the same behaviour is observed - although the BrightBox appears unable to re-connect following a disconnection so I have to power cycle to reconnect. This avoids the low sync speeds which I guess is good from an IP profile perspective - but is a bit rubbish really.