User comments on ISPs
  >> EE (Everything Everywhere) and Orange

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Jezzas
(newbie) Wed 18-Apr-12 01:07:38
Print Post

Very slow connection though all looks ok!!

[link to this post]

Hi All !

This is my first post as I have joined the forum in the hope of some advice to resolve a problem.
I have spent hours on the phone to Orange broadband tech support and every time I have to go through the same stuff, always ending in being advised to leave my router on for another 72 hours. (it's always on)

My Orange broadband is running extremely slow and has been for several weeks. I currently have a download speed of between 220k and 420k during the day which rises to around 1.5M after midnight and before about 10am.

I have a brand new BT master socket and filter. The tests were carried out using the test socket and a wired connection, although wifi speed tests on my laptops show similar results.
My exchange is Hadlow
I have checked the speed with a variety of testers and they are all giving similar results...

The BT Speedtester results vary a little but a typical result would be:
Download speed during test 0.4Mbps
DSL connection rate 7.9Mbps (down), .45Mbps (up)
IP profile for your line is 6 Mbps

I still use the Livebox which has been fine until now, and I have also tried a second Livebox that I was given with identical results.
The router details are typically:
Noise Margin 12.2
Attenuation 27
Attainable download rate 8160
7936 down, 448 up

Any help you kind folks can give me will be VERY gratefully received!!!

Many Thanks
Standard User XRaySpeX
(eat-sleep-adslguide) Wed 18-Apr-12 02:05:06
Print Post

Re: Very slow connection though all looks ok!!

[re: Jezzas] [link to this post]

Your router stats & IP profile are good but you are getting atrocious throughput frown.