General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User RobertoS
(sensei) Tue 29-Mar-11 15:18:56
Print Post

Wiring from an NTE5A

[link to this post]

I'm getting a bit confused by several recent posts in different places, some of which state definitively, and others imply, that extensions should be daisy-chained off the IDCs.

As I understand it, there is nothing to say you shouldn't star-wire from the faceplate, or even mix star and daisy-chained from it.

Any BT/Comms engineers around?

My broadband basic info/help site - www.robertos.me.uk
My domains,website and mail hosting - Tsohost. Internet connection - IDNet Home Starter Fibre. Live BQM.
Standard User RSTSGeek
(newbie) Tue 29-Mar-11 15:34:12
Print Post

Re: Wiring from an NTE5A

[re: RobertoS] [link to this post]

I am not a BT Engineer, but I have had a couple of them come across my own star-wired extensions at home.

Neither of them had any negative comments to make about it.

- Alex
Standard User systemx
(experienced) Tue 29-Mar-11 15:41:59
Print Post

Wiring from the IDCs of the customer connection unit of a NTE-5 (A or B)* may be daisy-chained or star wired or a mixture of both.
The problem arises when a NTE-5 is fitted to an already star wired set-up, so that when the customer connection unit is removed and the test socket exposed, other sockets remain connected.

When a NTE-5 is fitted it should always be wired so that all extensions are connected to the IDC's of the customer connection unit so that when the test socket is exposed there is a dial tone at the test socket and nowhere else.

As far as Broadband is concerned, a filter faceplate on the NTE-5 is the way to go.

* A or B in this case refers to the type of NTE, not the A and B terminals.

Edited by systemx (Tue 29-Mar-11 15:52:29)

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.