General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User NT06
(newbie) Mon 16-May-11 20:47:05
Print Post

Need Some Advice Please - Moving into New Flat in Manchester

[link to this post]

Hey Guys,

I'm an international student and will be moving in to a private flat in June. Have been staying in halls before this so I'm not really sure about getting broadband for my new flat. Got a couple of quick questions and I hope you will be able to help me out. Also, will definitely be staying there for 6 months, but I have not confirm whether I will be there for any longer. Therefore I will not be able to sign any 12-month contracts.

The agency recommended Virgin because they have their cabling in my building, but I have seen that only O2, BE and Plusnet offer any type of service that doesn't come with a 12-month contract. However, doing a check on [Samknows BB Checker] , O2/BE doesn't service my area. This only leaves me with Plusnet? How good/reliable is their service since I don't really have the choice of providers? Also, how long will it take from the subscription date till actual service commences? Am asking because I want to know if I should subscribe even before I move in, so I can have internet access from day 1.

Also, is there a possibility that other providers who typically do 12-month minimum contract create a 'package' for me? Or does that just not happen in the UK? Because it looks like Virgin does a good deal as well.

Next, should I get the router provided by the ISP or will I be better off purchasing one on my own? (i.e. Plusnet is £40 + £5 p&p)