General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Allan1
(member) Fri 08-Jul-11 17:54:28
Print Post

Strange problem

[link to this post]

Hi,
A work colleague mentioned today that she was having problems with the broadband connection at her house. I wonder if anyone has heard of this happening before or can offer any explanation?
For the past week she says her broadband will only connect to the internet if someone is making a telephone call at the same time - and the call has to be connected just having the phone off the hook doesn't fix it. She says it's happened since her husband accidentally clicked on a new phone/broadband deal with Tesco(who are their current ISP and phone supplier), she managed to cancel the new contract and get the old one reinstated but says that since then this problem has arisen. I'm no technical expert but it seems pretty unlikely to me that changing a contract would have that effect - I never thought that a contract for broadband and phone could actually mean that you'd have to use both at the same time smile

Al
Result of speedtest My Broadband Speed Test
Standard User MHC
(legend) Fri 08-Jul-11 18:00:05
Print Post

Re: Strange problem

[re: Allan1] [link to this post]

There is NO connection between the events. Just pure chance the problem occurred at that time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

M H C

taurus excreta cerebrum vincit
Standard User RobertoS
(sensei) Fri 08-Jul-11 18:21:49
Print Post

If she disconnects the router from the phone line, can she hear anything on the Quiet Line test, 17070 option 2?

My broadband basic info/help site - www.robertos.me.uk
My domains,website and mail hosting - Tsohost. Internet connection - IDNet Home Starter Fibre. Live BQM.

"Where talent is a dwarf, self-esteem is a giant." - Jean-Antoine Petit-Senn.

Edited by RobertoS (Fri 08-Jul-11 18:25:06)