General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Print Thread
Standard User Grenade
(newbie) Sat 10-Mar-12 04:09:45
Print Post

Speeding up my Broadband

[link to this post]

Hello

I'm on O2 broadband using the Wireless Box V, and currently getting a speed of 12.5 Mbps through ethernet and wifi. I'm on an up to 20 Mbps package. According to the BT Wholesale checker I could be getting 17 Mbps. I just wondered if there is any way I can boost my speed to get closer to 17? I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to these things so I don't know where to begin.

Here are my stats...

Uptime: 0 days, 8:30:28
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.313 / 15.469
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 192,25 / 0,99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11,9 / 18,5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 13,6 / 25,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 7,3 / 6,0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / BDCM
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 98 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 80.524
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 26 / 106
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 18 / 843

Also, what would the reason be that I am not able to get 20 Mbps? Is it to do with the wiring?

Thank you for your time.
Standard User RobertoS
(sensei) Sat 10-Mar-12 09:55:12
Print Post

Re: Speeding up my Broadband

[re: Grenade] [link to this post]

The Wholesale Checker estimates are just guidelines, not "could get". More "might get" smile. Also, it refers to the connection/sync speed, not the actual speed test results obtainable, which are always much lower.

In your case you are connected at 15,469kbps. On O2 that should give actual speeds of around 12,900kbps, which some testers could report as 12.6Mbps.