General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Fryn
(newbie) Wed 25-Apr-12 09:29:41
Print Post

STD codes

[link to this post]

Hi to anyone out there
Please bear with me - I am new to using forums and pretty ignorant about broadband stuff, but I'm trying to learn. We are suffering really low broadband speeds following a move of ISP a couple of months ago - 1.5 download speed on Monday evening, which is not unusual, with frequent cut-outs. We were promised a minimum of 6.5 rising to 12.5, which is the range which every other broadband provider promises but I am not convinced that these speeds can in fact be achieved at our property. We are a relatively long distance from the exchange and from a cabinet, but I have now also discovered that ours is probably the only house in the area with an 'old' STD code - 8690 - and for the last thirty years all new properties / new phones around us have been given a different STD code - 0314. What effect would this have on our speeds if any? A neighbour with the 'new' code has no problem with internet speeds. Should we be asking for a new phone number? Thanks for any ideas.
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Wed 25-Apr-12 10:02:02
Print Post

Re: STD codes

[re: Fryn] [link to this post]

STD code has no effect on broadband.

Changing your phone number will have no effect.

Can you find the actual connection speeds, attenuation and noise margin data from your broadband modem. http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php shows how to get these for most modems.

Once we see those we can comment further on your plight

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User XRaySpeX