General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User thinkpaul10
(newbie) Mon 02-Jul-12 09:12:31
Print Post

Can I connect two modems to one BT line

[link to this post]

Hello, hope someone can help?

At home we have a BT broadband connection. My girl friends work pays for it as she needs to get on to the office servers, this is secure thought a modem box and also a firewall box. This is restricted our personal internet access to only certain sites on her work laptop. I myself work for myself and need to access the internet via my laptop (mac), I'm a web designer so rely on the internet.

My question is: If I was to buy an addition wireless modem could I unplug the work configured set-up at the wall, plug in the new one and set it up? I don't need to run the two modems at the same time, so could just swap the plugs as and when required.

Thanks in advance

Paul
Administrator MrSaffron
(staff) Mon 02-Jul-12 09:51:35
Print Post

Re: Can I connect two modems to one BT line

[re: thinkpaul10] [link to this post]

Generally the account is assigned to the line, so you would need to use the work ADSL login/pwd for the modem to authenticate.

In theory if work is using for example Zen, and you had your own personal zen account line details from elsewhere it would work.

The simplest answer, is that you need a second line installed so you can have personal internet access too.

Andrew Ferguson, andrew@thinkbroadband.com
www.thinkbroadband.com - formerly known as ADSLguide.org.uk
The author of the above post is a thinkbroadband staff member. It may not constitute an official statement on behalf of thinkbroadband.
Standard User E7er
(knowledge is power) Mon 02-Jul-12 10:15:04
Print Post

In reply to a post by thinkpaul10:
Hello, hope someone can help?