General Discussion
  >> General Broadband Chatter

Register (or login) on our website and you will not see this ad.

Pages in this thread: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | (show all)   Print Thread
Standard User Trinitrotoluene
(newbie) Wed 05-Sep-12 02:08:47
Print Post

How can I go about improving my speed (Sky BB)

[link to this post]

Helllo all,

I've exhausted all other avenues so I have come to hopefully find some people who know more about ADSL than me (I'm an IT Engineer that deals with broadband quite frequently)

Basic information, I am on the Sky Unlimited broadband package and have been for over two years. I have had significant problems with my speed from the start.

To cut a long story short, I am currently synchronising at 1.9 meg with the following line stats:

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 1952 kbps 768 kbps
Line Attenuation 62.5db 31.5db
Noise Margin 7.6db 7.0db

Things I have tried so far (all tests done directly into BT Master Socket)
1) Tried 3 seperate routers (Sky provided router/Netgear DG834/Draytek 2830)
2) Multiple different filters on the line
3) Multiple different RJ11 cables

I have raised this multiple times with Sky Broadband (albeit not in the past 6 months). They have tried retraining the line/setting a manual profile on the line.

I am approximately 3km from the exchange according to http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange_mapping. This also has an estimated speed of 3.5Mbps. If I run through the broadband checker on Sky's website, they advise a speed between 2.7Mbps to 7Mbps at my address. O2 Broadband reckons around five. I have never had a sync speed over 2.0Mbps.

I also happen to be living directly next door to family (who are 10 metres away). Their line attenuation is 45 and they have a sync speed of just under 7.0Mbps.